Austrian Service Abroad at the Neuberger

AHMS logo

About the Gedenkdiener Program

The Austrian Holocaust Memorial Service (Gedenkdienst) is an independent alternative to Austria's compulsory national military service. Its participants serve at major Holocaust institutions. The first participant started in 1992 at the Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum. Since then, over 400 Austrian Holocaust Memorial Service interns have been working with major Holocaust memorial institutions in 23 countries worldwide. The intent of the AHMS is to recognize Austria's part of the collective responsibility for the Holocaust. The Neuberger is proud to welcome Gedenkdiener interns.

2017-2018 Gedenkdiener: Andreas Mayer

Andreas Meyer

Andreas Mayer is the eighth Holocaust memorial service intern sent by the Austrian Service Abroad. He is placed with the Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre from September 2017 through June 2018. Andreas was born and raised in Vienna. He went to a technical high school specializing in biomedical engineering and after graduating went on to TU Wien to study electrical engineering. He put his studies on hold for a year to complete his service at the Neuberger. Shortly before he had to decide to either do a military or civil service, he heard about the Austrian Holocaust Memorial Service (“Gedenkdienst”) as a part of Austrian Service Abroad and ultimately chose this third option. Additionally to being educated by AHMS, Andreas prepared for his placement by volunteering for a Muslim-Jewish interfaith NGO as well as by visiting several memorial sites in Vienna, Berlin and Paris and former concentration camps in Mauthausen, Sachsenhausen and Melk. Andreas is looking forward to sharing his perspective with students and young adults during his stay in Canada.

For more information, please contact Andreas.

Gedenkdieners at the Neuberger

The Neuberger hosted its first Gedenkdiener, or Holocaust Memorial Service Intern, in 2010. Raffael Stuhlpfarrer interned at the Centre from 2010-2011. Subsequently, the Centre hosted Gedenkdiener Aron Coman-Mikó from February-July 2012, Andreas Schnitzer for the 2012-2013 year, Stefan Hammerl from 2013-2014, Alexander Schelischansky from 2014-2015, Mathias Vogt from 2015-2016, and Lorenz Glettler from 2016-2017.